5 Minute Post

Posted on

2 weeks to go until the race and I made a mistake today. The last couple weeks were so busy with birthdays and parties that I got no running done. The mistake came when I decided to keep my schedule and do my final long runs before the race. Today was supposed to be 4 hours and 5 hours tomorrow. I did the 4 and I am wiped out. I have not felt this bad after a run in so long that I do not remember. I get cramps in my feet, thighs, hamstring and I even got a cramp in my hand. The worst part was that I had no rest time before getting the kids. When I got out of the car, I was in a ton of pain. As I was going into the daycare, my thigh cramped so bad I could barely stand much less walk. When I started moving, my hammy in the other leg decided it was not enough attention. Not to be outdone, when I bent over to massage the areas, my intercostals chimed in.  Total mess. I am laying in bed now and things are better ( because I have not moved in an hour). I guess running 5 hours tomorrow might have to be abolished. I will not be taking so long off from running during training again. Lesson learned.
Namaste.

2 thoughts on “5 Minute Post

    FreeRangeCow said:
    February 13, 2014 at 2:10 pm

    Oh geez. Sorry! Good luck! I had to take 10 days of running because of a lung funk. I had a similar experience (albeit MUCH smaller mileage) and I felt horrible. My spirit was crushed. Two days later, however, I had a great run. I wish the same for you!

      genext13 responded:
      February 13, 2014 at 2:25 pm

      Thanks! I actually feel a lot better this morning. I will take today off and plan on at least two hours a day for the next week and then a couple days running the final week. That will keep me limber enough to not be completely wiped out in the race.

Leave a Reply

