Another day

Posted on Updated on

I thought my days of sleep deprivation were over, or at least down to a minimum. Shows what I get for thinking. The day after I posted that I was goin to start running twice a day, the kids decided I was not going to get sleep anymore. They and I had been getting sleep so was thinking clearer and able to set goals. Somehow they read my thoughts blog and figured I did not get to do anything without them like sleep so they started a streak of wetting the bed and waking up in the middle of the night not seen around here in hundreds of years. It got so hectic that they even messed up a couple of times and forgot who’s turn it was and they both got up. I know when I am not getting enough slewp by the number of posts I make on Facebook and my blog. I post way too many pictures and silly responses on Facebook and stop posting fitness posts here when I miss a couple nights. I sit and stare at the computer all day when it goes beyond two days. Well it has been way too long and I feel like I am slipping back into the abyss of not running and just turning into comic book guy (well, on the outside).
A couple weks ago I won a case of Suja juices from another blogger and I am very happy. Apart from the 33g of sugar in each bottle, they are excellent. The green one even has protein from the kale they add. They all taste about the same because they have banana in them but that is fine, I like bananas. I saw these juices at Sprouts yesterday and realized I cannot afford to buy them regularly but if I needed lunch in a hurry, this juice would work perfectly.
I mentioned before that I am retooling for the Old Pueblo Ultramarathon so my training is going to look different, slightly. Core remains, tempo remains, and even intervals (to an extent), but now I am going to focus on gettng used to the distance.
Monday – 1 hour tempo
Tuesday – 15 min warmup and cooldown and 5-8 Yasso 800@3 min
Wednesday – off
Thursday- 4-5 hours running
Friday – 4-5 hours running
Saturday – off
Sunday – off or 10-30 minute easy run
I hope to get the longer runs down to under four hours but for now, I want to get in the total distance of the ultra and get my body used to it. I will continue this until about three weeks prior to the race then I will taper. I will use the tempo and interval days to run trail and hills or on my treadmill (which has a 10-20% grade on it) to get used to the terrain (Old Pueblo course has an average 6% grade).
(In case you wondering, I got to sleep until 6 this morning even though I still had to clean up a pee bed when I got up.)
There is probably more to write but I am behind on posts so I will stop and fashion another post for later today.

Namaste

4 thoughts on “Another day

    FreeRangeCow said:
    December 16, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    Wow. As hard as it is to say good bye to a teenager heading off to school, I don’t miss the “up all night” days.

      FreeRangeCow said:
      December 16, 2013 at 4:57 pm

      Good luck with your training, much less keeping your head on straight!

        genext13 responded:
        December 17, 2013 at 8:45 pm

        Thanks!

      genext13 responded:
      December 17, 2013 at 8:45 pm

      It is not just difficult, I feel like my personality is being altered by all of this. Not in a good way.

Leave a Reply

