Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, and running….oh my!

Posted on

Thanksgiving was last week. It was nice. We actually had Thanksgiving dinner on Thanksgiving this year. I use the empirical ‘we’ because I was out getting a laptop at a good price for my wife so she can work from home. I did not miss much other than my wife trying to get the kids to sit still and eat in the midst of the kids’ cousins being rambunctious and doing things the little ones cannot do yet. So when I say ‘miss’ I mean in the same spirit as I ‘miss’ diarrhea or I ‘miss’ the chance of getting a venereal disease from an ex-girlfriend (i.e. not so much). I got back in time to play with them and watch them open presents (then start to melt down because it was 9:00 and their bedtime is 6:30).
Thanksgiving was also the second night of Hanukkah (thus the reference to opening presents). Hanukkah has been fun this year. The kids have been able to get a lot of things they want plus some gift cards will allow them to get a few more things that pop up. No latkes but they have been able to have Thanksgiving dinner on Hanukkah which will not happen again until the sun burns out or something like that.
I am continuing the streak of running at least a mile a day. I even ran a mile while we were at a friend’s child’s birthday party and the kids ran it with me (we were at a park with a couple of soccer fields).
I am going to try increasing my posts by doing at least one 5 minute quickie post each day. I will only write for 5 minutes and if I am motivated to write later I will (particularly if I do not finish my post).

That is all for now.
Namaste

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving, Hanukkah, and running….oh my!

    FreeRangeCow said:
    December 6, 2013 at 6:12 pm

    Have you found it odd to have Hanukkah overlapping? I learned a great deal about it, this year, when I heard it was happening…I did not know it was a “floating” holiday (in that it is not on “set” calendar days). I love learning new things.

      genext13 responded:
      December 6, 2013 at 6:19 pm

      The calendar is different. The Jewish year uses a different calculation method from our Gregorian standard. This is used primarily for rituals and holidays and dates vary in relation to each other. 🙂
      I can’t wait for the next one to roll around in 78,000 years. Going to be a long wait. You are invited to dinner that night though!

Leave a Reply

