Five for Friday

Posted on

Greeting to all my followers! I realized I passed my one year mark but I am incredibly grateful that I am still around. I am grateful for those of you who remain as well!

1.    I ran my long run yesterday at a 9:30 pace. I will be doing crosstraining and foamroll today and I will work in a run this weekend.

2.   My son has finally started caring about his fellow classmates at school and his behavior is improving. I am far less concerned that he is getting the rewards his teacher provides than I am about his concern for his classroom experience. Next week is parent-teacher conferences.

3.   I am finally getting organized around the house and making a list of blog topics as well. Hopefully, I can finally get around to writing those entries.

4.   My daughter loves her new school. She is finally being challenged and there are no reports of acting out we had at her previous school. In years past, she would get bored with her teachers or her curriculum and she would bite. None of that this year. She is happy with school. She gets to sing, dance, make art almost every day.

5.   Two months unemployed and I realize more and more how much I do not miss my job. Yes, I miss the money and I am currently looking for something to do while the kids are in school, but I am realizing that I could not ethically continue to do the things they were expecting me to do. That job was 85-90% paperwork, 5% school-related duties (meetings that addressed nothing I needed to know, lunch duty, going into the special education classroom to provide services I was not qualified to provide to students I did not have on my caseload, etc.), 8% prep time, and perhaps some time to get to providing therapy for the students. That leftover time was to be therapy but at what cost? Sacrificing therapy quality for the needs of some state protocol or some protocol set forth by the district which ends up being busy work at best is unethical and mind-numbing. I have probably alluded to how I feel and think about that job in the past, but my wife still works there and things are even worse this year than last.

I am looking forward now. I am getting fit in the process. I am pushing myself and my hope is to get good enough to find a sponsor or two. I am entertaining thoughts about how to make money for now since this whole getting a job thing is not working too well. I have filled out applications online and nothing has come to fruition, not even a call for interview. I am waiting for Road Runner Sports to get back to me. I talked with the newly appointed store supervisor and explained that all I want is part-time work. She sent an email to their human resources department and we are waiting now.

Fall is here (even in the pits of Hell desert and runs are easier and heat runs are basically over. Although 86 degrees is still hot for doing long runs, I can manage.

More later,

Namaste

One thought on “Five for Friday

    ksbeth said:
    October 19, 2013 at 12:13 am

    happy you are alive and well after that and congrats on passing the one year mark )

Leave a Reply

