4to4 Week 4

Posted on

Workout schedule

Monday – Wife off work so no workout

Tuesday – Cross-training – 150m swim

Run- 6 mile Tempo @9:30 min/mile

Wednesday – 10 x 400m @ 1:50

4 x 800 @ 3:50

Thursday – Run- 6 mile Tempo @9:30/mile

Friday – 12 miles @ 10 min/mile

Saturday – weights and yoga stretches

Sunday – stretches and rest

Meditation 40 minutes daily

I will see if I can get my road bike working this week so I can expand my crosstraining to include rides. The pool is getting colder and I am not sure how much longer I can keep swimming. Last year I swam for awhile after runs but it was the cold on my head that stopped me from continuing. No fat there makes it really painful to swim in cold water. I will also look into an insulated hood from a scuba suit (if there is such a thing) because I really need the swim practice and I can not afford a fitness center pass.

My largest barrier continuing forward is getting past my own thoughts on speed. I am constantly holding myself back when I run for fear of burnout or injury or overtraining. Unfortunately this has transmitted into my mentality on raceday. I have started looking at this thought process and I hope to change it come raceday into something more productive. I can go faster than I have been going and I know it. I was always looking at it as just another run before. Now, it is a race. The rest is training. I need to trust that all my training will have the effect of running faster for longer than I do during the training. This next marathon is going to be something different for me. Pardon me while I go out to train now.

Namaste

Leave a Reply

