January 19, 2014

Posted on

Rock and Roll Arizona Marathon. 16 weeks. 4 months. I will be working through the schedule set forth in Dave Kuehls’ 4 Months to a 4 Hour Marathon. My goal is a qualifying time but I think I will need to do better than that, probably minus 20-30 minutes, so I will be aiming for a 3 hour time. “Aim small, miss small” as Mel Gibson’s character told his sons in The Patriot. I am training more for the Old Pueblo ultramarathon near Tucson in March than for the marathon (well for the next month or so until I find out if I can get into the ultra).

Namaste.

6 thoughts on “January 19, 2014

    FreeRangeCow said:
    October 23, 2013 at 2:37 pm

    Oh good luck! I am training for a half, myself. What is one thing you love about running? I am always curious at what makes each person “go.”

      genext13 responded:
      October 23, 2013 at 3:48 pm

      It is like medicine. It allows me to focus. What about you?

        FreeRangeCow said:
        October 23, 2013 at 4:52 pm

        Oh! Good things to love! It makes me forget everything and “be in” a single moment. I try so hard to do this without the “pain” of running and am not quite able. I strive to be there one day with meditation, but can’t get the same “singleness of mind” (if that makes sense).

        genext13 responded:
        October 23, 2013 at 11:44 pm

        Makes sense to me. How are you meditating? Running is a form of meditation in itself. I still have pain but mostly after running. Have you tried a chiropractor?

    FreeRangeCow said:
    October 24, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    Pain sucks. It makes you feel so out of control of your faculties, doesn’t it? I have not tried a chiropractor. I was having random knee, hip and heel pain and saw, believe it or not, a foot doctor. He gave me orthotics (they were $400, but they’ve lasted with daily use for 3 years so far) and all that pain started easing for me.

    I meditate with a white noise machine and a relaxation process it does work for me, but takes a loooong time to get the last niggles of “daily stuff” out.

      genext13 responded:
      October 24, 2013 at 4:35 pm

      I am glad that works for you. I do a simple meditative technique were I sit and repeat a mantra in my head. This works really well. I meditate twice a day for 20 minutes. Sometimes I just repeat the mantra as I am going to sleep.
      Have you read Born to Run? You may find it helpful for the pain. They say that the shoe companies admit that their shoes contribute to running-related injuries. My suggestion would be to learn to run again by starting over. Barefoot running has been shown to not only decrease but actually reverse the effects of running injuries. You can also try minimalist running shoes to protect them from the road. You can also try Chi Running. This book talks about changing your form that is actually about the same form as barefoot running.

Leave a Reply

