MmmmmMonday

Posted on

I was thinking about what to make for my children this morning for breakfast. I felt I wanted to actually make something and that it would not actually be a chore this time. Train of thought led me to pancakes but I thought that might be boring. French toast popped into my head and I thought “French toast pancakes” might actually be tasty. I figured that I was not the first person to try this so I googled it. I was reluctant at first because I wanted to create this on my own. Fortunately, the few recipes I found did not reflect what I conceived. I wanted pancakes that are actually made in a French toast style. My idea for this is to make a pancake that mimics bread in density and holeyness. I did not want to use yeast so I added more baking powder and an extra egg.
My recipe contains coconut oil and coconut milk but butter and cow’s milk could be used instead.

They are light like pancakes but have the texture and almost meatiness of French toast.

Pancakes

1.5 cups flour
1 tablespoon baking flour
.5 tsp salt
2 eggs
.5 cup coconut milk
1 tablespoon coconut oil
.3 cup sugar (I use powdered sugar for pancake and waffle batter)
1 tsp vanilla

Sift flour, salt, baking soda. Melt the oil then mix with the eggs and the milk. Add the sugar to the egg mixture. Pour the egg mixture into the flour mix and whisk together. Cover and let the batter rest for 15 minutes. Heat a griddle or skillet at medium or 300 degrees. Scoop the batter onto the hot surface and turn when the sides brown and bubbles rise to the surface. Remove from the heat when both sides are golden brown. Let them cool and make the French toast dredge.

20130610-102545.jpg

20130610-102601.jpg

French toast dredge

2 eggs
1 tablespoon honey
.25 cup coconut milk

Beat the eggs with the coconut milk. Heat the honey for 20 or so seconds in the microwave to make it easier to mix and combine with the egg mixture. This is easier if you use a shallow container like a n 8 inch cake pan. Out the cooled pancakes into the dredge. Leave them in for about 30 seconds each side. I needed to hurry because the kids were giving each other that ‘you look tasty in a World War Z’ kind of way, so I gently pushed down on the pancakes to force the air out of them and suction in the egg mixture. Set the wet pancakes on a drying rack to drain the excess liquid so they do not burn in the oven. (Again, in a hurry, so I set them on the griddle to cook the outside and hurry up the drying process so they would not burn or drip. I then put the pancakes directly on the rack in the toaster oven set to toast medium.

20130610-103018.jpg

I dusted with more powdered sugar and drizzled with maple syrup. They ate them up! I tased it and it came out really well. I will have to try this as vegan and gluten free next time. vegan can be tricky because I needed the bread texture for the french toast aspect. we will see.

I accomplished French toast pancakes. That is a good morning!

20130610-103116.jpg

8 thoughts on “MmmmmMonday

    ksbeth said:
    June 10, 2013 at 9:51 pm

    omg these look amazing,

    allyhope18 said:
    June 11, 2013 at 1:01 am

    Wow looks delish!
    I wanted to let you know that I awarded you the One Lovely Blog Award (: Congrats! You deserve it! http://hopefullvegan.wordpress.com/2013/06/09/shine-on-blogger-award-one-lovely-blog-award/

      genext13 responded:
      June 11, 2013 at 2:25 am

      Thank you. You are truly a beautiful soul.

        allyhope18 said:
        June 11, 2013 at 4:30 am

        Aww ! You’re sweet(:

    meditatingmummy said:
    June 11, 2013 at 1:32 am

    Yummy. I will make these with gluten free flour and see how it works out. I usually omit regular flour and add GF for my daughter … I’m sure she’s love them. Thank you..

    Sheslosingit.net said:
    June 19, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    That looks so good!!!! On Saturday, before my bodybuilding competition, I will get to eat pancakes.

      genext13 responded:
      June 19, 2013 at 2:55 pm

      Are you not even allowed gluten free pancakes?

Leave a Reply

