June 5

Posted on Updated on

I ran during the day today. A tempo run. Wow, that was interesting. Running in heat and doing a tempo. Tempo runs are running with a slow warm-up, a challenging paced run, and a slow cool down. Today I ran for 12 minutes at 75% max HR, 40 minutes at 80-90% max HR, and 10 minutes cool down at 75% max HR. This, on top of 95 degree temperatures when I left (102 when I got home) made for a lot of fun in the sun. Fortunately, this is June. Our humidity is about 20% and we had a little wind (10% today) at this time, so it is way more comfortable to run in these temperatures than it will be in a month. Running in July and August, one feels like a potato in a running microwave (including the possibility of one’s head exploding as it would in a real microwave). Tonight’s plan is another short run, about 5k. Nothing special planned except to keep HR around 80%.
Happy National Running Day! I would have taken advantage of the special for PF Chang’s in 2014 but it is summer and income is limited right now. I had been looking for Hammer Nutrition because it is vegan and I had an epiphany, RoadRunner Sports, duh. They have the individual gel packs but not the larger bottles so I will still need to go online for those. They are a much better deal (26 servings for 19.99 compared to 1.49 per packet) and RoadRunner has a special on their website on Hammer products right now. These are helpful for the ultra as well as when I start tri training.

I ran on Running day. Did anyone else?

One thought on “June 5

    Colin DeWaay said:
    June 6, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    Took a full rest day myself, was dying from my quads and calves workout the day before! Man it seems like everywhere else is super hot in the world, while here in MN it’s cold and rainy every dang day! haha

Leave a Reply

