Five for Friday – June Bug

Posted on Updated on

Five for Friday

June Goals
I was going to start my regime this last week but, I decided to make this a goal for June. Long slow runs Friday, Saturday, and Sunday and two-a-days Monday through Thursday. Cross training will include an hour a day of yard work, cardio weights, swimming, core workouts and possibly cycling (if I can get my bike fixed). So I am looking at 200 plus miles for June (it actually comes to 230 or so but I figure life often steps in so aim low and be pleased if I overshoot). I am actually a week into meditating with regularity and properly. June will also be another month of juice only. I will work on an actual schedule each week and post it (whether you like it or not).

Snack
Air popped popcorn topped with a little salt and nutritional yeast.

20130531-204610.jpg

Awards
I will get my awards finished this weekend. There are several. A big thanks to Amanda for all the nominations.

Summer Movies
I found out that the nearby mall theater has the summer movie program and we went to the first movie in a theater with our kids, ever. It was ok but they were a bit spooked when there was a part in the movie that was a little tense. The dark theater combined with the threat of a volcano to our heroes on the screen was a bit too much so we sat in the wings sort of watching the climax of the movie. It all worked out and we will return next week to see Smurfs.

Hummus
I am not sure if I blogged about this before, but I discovered how to get the texture of my hummus thicker, tahini. I added tahini and it made the hummus I make fantastic! Tahini is not cheap but I only need a tablespoon for each 1 or 2 cups of hummus. I love it!

Thanks for reading! Love and light. Namaste.

5 thoughts on “Five for Friday – June Bug

    blowingoffsteamandmore said:
    June 2, 2013 at 1:18 pm

    We love tahini in our hummus!! Peeling the chickpeas makes it nice and creamy as well. A tiny container of store bought hummus costs close to $6 here so making our own is well worth it!

    Did you get a new Garmin?

      genext13 responded:
      June 2, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      I just posted about the Garmin. I can use it for training but I doubt it will hold a charge for a race. I will see in the fall when I run my first marathon distance training run. I can get 2 pounds of organic hummus at Costco for about 7 bucks and a half pound is 2.50 to 3 dollars at Sprouts but it is still cheaper to make it myself. (That Costco hummus is like crack by the way. I can usually finish off a container in a few sittings like a college girl on her period with a gallon of fudge brownie ice cream who got dumped on Valentine’s Day).

        blowingoffsteamandmore said:
        June 2, 2013 at 2:01 pm

        Ha! I just saw your Garmin post after I commented on this one. We don’t have Costco here. 😦 I miss so many things about Costco. That mango salsa is awesome and you really can’t beat a gigantic fairly fresh pizza for $10! No Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods here either. Kroger controls the empire. 😦

        genext13 responded:
        June 2, 2013 at 2:15 pm

        Not sure what happened but, I ended up posting this response i my Wordless Wednesday thread…
        Garmin has the best features! The one I have, the Forerunner 305, has a Velcro strap so I can adjust it as I run. This is important to me. When my hands swell from running distance, I need to be able to make the strap fit better. This one has a GPS which is nice. The software is great too. I can create my runs on the computer and upload to my watch or I can create a run on the watch as needed. It has functions for running, biking, or swimming too. I can also just hit the start button and run and i can get all the information i need as I go, including: laps, pace per lap or the whole run, altitude change, and many other stats that you can program into the watch to calculate and show during or after the run.
        I will probably need a new one before the year is out, but I will be getting another Garmin even though they are costly.

      genext13 responded:
      June 2, 2013 at 1:57 pm

      Peeling the chickpeas sounds suspiciously like a lot of work (yard work kind of work). I might try it at some point, but I think leaving the husk on probably adds fiber. I think having a VitaMix might make the difference too.

Leave a Reply

