Long and slow

Posted on Updated on

Officially, summer break began today. I do not count the long weekend that we would have had off anyway. I have begun more ernest workouts. Long slow runs at about 85% max heart rate will comprise most of my runs, Probably Friday, Saturday, and Sunday with Sunday being the easiest of the workouts making it an optional day to rest. Intervals twice each week morning on Tuesday and evening Thursday. Tempo runs Monday morning and Wednesday evening. Monday through Thursday will include a 30-60 minute run either in the morning or evening to get my body used to working out tired. I will do this regimen for a month. I will cut back after this to increase my core workouts again. I continue to juice and have a meal everyone in awhile. I have not eaten meat apart from tasting the food I make for my family for a long time now and I really do not miss it. The last couple weeks have seen less juicing and less workouts. With work over for a couple months, this can go back to normal and healthy. I have also increased my activity during the day at home. I have been engaging the children more and I have been doing a lot more housework. The yard is next. It currently looks like something from a Stephen King novel. I think people are expecting a rabid dog to come crashing through the door chasing an evil clown with creepy 70’s music playing in the background when they ring the doorbell. It should be fun though. Yard work is just a form of crosstraining anyway. This will be a fun summer. I hope to get the kids to the mall so I can read my blogs and post a lotthey can have some fun and go wild without destroying the house.

4 thoughts on “Long and slow

    Colin DeWaay said:
    May 29, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    Ugh my lawn is brutal. Feel free to stop over and do some work here! haha

      genext13 responded:
      May 29, 2013 at 2:22 pm

      😛

      genext13 responded:
      May 29, 2013 at 6:16 pm

      At this point, a lawn would be great. I would just mow it as needed. I have nearly all gravel and some plants. My grass patch is not a grass patch right now. It is green from clover which also means a ton of ants. The rest of the yard is full of dead weeds and god knows what else.

        Colin DeWaay said:
        May 29, 2013 at 6:20 pm

        Yikes. I dug out huge areas of my lawn and reseeded last year only to have a huge storm wash it all away a few days later. I just said screw it after that!

Leave a Reply

