Mother’s Day

Posted on Updated on

Another Mother’s Day is here. I took the kids to get gifts for their mother a couple times. They actually had thoughts of what they wanted to get. The Dictator wanted to get her favorite, chocolate. Not exactly what she wants since she started losing weight, but who am I to turn down my 5 year old? Her Majesty wanted to get flowers. We do not really do flowers since we perceive them as wasted money. When you think about it, so chocolate. We also got one of those felt coloring posters that I will probably post at some point when it is colored. We went out this morning and got the flowers at a good price, which endears mommy more than the actual gifts. I then brought them home and made a batch of sugar cookie bars for my wife’s sister’s brunch and a batch of vegan sugar cookie dough. I had not made these before and they taste better than the ones made with butter and eggs. I used coconut oil instead of butter and added a bit more baking powder to substitute for the leavening power of eggs. I needed a little more flour but they came out great.
Pictures? Nope. I don’t ever remember to take the progress pictures. In fact, I don’t remember to take pictures until I am sitting and doing nothing (when there is no more food left).

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mommies out there. Mom is the most underrated yet revered role in the world. We have them and many are them yet until you have been one, you really do not appreciate the sacrifices a mother makes for her children. I appreciate my wife’s sacrifices for the security of our children. I appreciate that she wants to make those sacrifices. I send out love and wishes of a beautiful and peaceful Mother’s Day to anyone who is a mother. Thank you!

20130512-130611.jpg

3 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

    genext13 responded:
    May 13, 2013 at 3:44 am

    Way awesome!

    genext13 responded:
    May 13, 2013 at 3:50 am

    You are a riot! I love your interesting job, but I think I would like something less interesting like ER nurse. There is a reason why it is a curse to wish someone “interesting times.”

    genext13 responded:
    May 13, 2013 at 3:51 am

    Adversity gives you something to strive for. Sorry for the disappointment though.

Leave a Reply

