Running

Posted on Updated on

I love running. That being said, I do not appreciate explosions while running. I am saddened at the 2 dead in Boston as the result of explosions today. I will not stop running nor will I stop running in marathons as a result of these explosions. I do not care if these were intentional or accidents, I will not stop. That is the nature of the sport…we. do. not. stop. I watched the footage of the people as they neared the finish line both as the explosions happened and after, they did not stop. They rubber-necked like 95% of drivers here in Phoenix when anything is at the side of the road (car crash, police with a speeder, small piece of trash, etc) but they did not stop. I figure the race officials had a contingency plan to route people to an alternate finish line and the rest went on to finish in relative safety but those in the immediate aftermath kept going. They figure, I am in the Boston Marathon and I just ran for 4 hours, I am crossing the finish line and nothing will stop me. I pray for those who were injured and I send mega prayers and love to those survivors of the deceased. But this type of thing will not stop us from running. It might stop the casual runners but those of us who run to run will keep running. Those of us who run in any weather and look at something like the Badwater Ultra (135 miles through Death Valley in July) and think “I wonder how big the medal is for that one?” will keep going. Running is what we do, who we are, and we do not stop. I will pause, however, and say a prayer for those who have come before me and those who were taken from us for whatever reason. For their sake I will keep running. I know I would want the same.

2 thoughts on “Running

    Storm said:
    April 15, 2013 at 11:46 pm

    I think they kept running because they just saw two explosions within 50 yards of eachother and were probably scared there were going to be more….If I was in something that resembled a war zone, I would keep running…

      genext13 responded:
      April 16, 2013 at 3:25 am

      That, and exhaustion. I still would keep going unless there was a gunman at the finish line.

Leave a Reply

