Juicing

Posted on Updated on

I have been vegan for a little while now and, honestly, I don’t miss meat or cheese. It is not,like I was forced to change for health or moral reasons. I went vegan to increase my athletic performance. The health benefits are a bonus and perhaps will become the reason for continuing this dietary choice. Perhaps the fact that it is a choice makes it easier. I know I can eat meat and cheese if I choose so the whole ‘forbidden fruit’ thing does not make me want to eat them.

We proceeded to the next level Saturday. We bought a Ninja. Contrary to popular belief, ninjas are not quiet. They are, in fact, louder than a school cafeteria on a rainy day schedule the day before winter break. Seems they could only have made it this loud if that was their goal.

Ninja Designer 1: Something isn’t right.
Ninja Designer 2: I know. It is too quiet. Almost as if the thing isn’t working hard enough.
Ninja Designer 1: I know! what if we put in a motorcycle engine but remove the muffler.
Ninja Designer 2: It still isn’t loud enough. I want to be able to make people think someone could grind up titanium bolts with this thing.
And so the Ninja was born. The reports of the Ninja Professional are mixed. Some say it is horrible with a lot of design flaws or that is leaves a lot of chunks. Some people have even gone through 3 or more of them because the pitchers break easily. I wanted to try it out because it is hhard to resist the price. Plus, there were just as many positive reviews. Before I bite the bullet and spent $500 on a VitaMix, I want to see what else is out there (this might also allow me to save up for the VitaMix).
So I made a few juices. Of course, I tested the ice-to-snow ability first. It did. That was nice, no chunks. Next I added strawberries, a banana, and some blueberries. It was good but I can do this with my $20 blender from Walmart. Next, I wanted to try a veggie juice.

Juice #2
blueberries
maca powder
chia seeds
coconut water
flax seeds
kale
This one tasted good although a bit bitter from the kale. Also, I realized that the chia creates a gel effect if it sits for any length of time in liquid. The bit left in the pitcher turned into pudding by the time I finished drinking. I also wonder if using them in the blender sped up the gel-making process.

Juice #3
almond milk
blueberries
Spectrum Decadent Blend Chia & Flax Seed (a blend with coconut, cacao powder, flax and chia seeds)
2T maca powder
This was rather good, but I made pudding again.
Interesting though, I am starting to wonder if the blueberries are part of the bitterness. I will try one without them to taste the difference.

I realize I have been writing this post for 3 days now so I will end and continue in another post. 🙂

As always, with Love and Light.

13 thoughts on “Juicing

    blowingoffsteamandmore said:
    February 19, 2013 at 6:40 pm

    It seems to me that aside from the blueberries (unless they aren’t ripe enough), most of the ingredients are sort of bitter. Are you allowed to add something sweeter like strawberries or a ripe banana to counteract? They both sound like awesome healthy combinations so if you figure out a sweeter version, please post so we can copy!! I love healthy juices and smoothies!

      genext13 responded:
      February 19, 2013 at 8:19 pm

      I use coconut water for the sugar content and orange for sweetness. The bitterness does not bother me too much. You are right though most of them are bitter. I have a few more juices to write about today that are less bitter. Coconut water does not taste very sweet though. I used orange juice in the latest recipes and that definitely provides a balance to the bitterness.

      Thanks for the comments! (I will even try keeping track of quantities for recipes)

        blowingoffsteamandmore said:
        February 19, 2013 at 8:26 pm

        Do you like the taste of plain coconut water? I bought an Acai one the other day and could barely muscle through it. I definitely couldn’t drink it on a daily business. Maybe it was the Acai flavor I didn’t like though.

        genext13 responded:
        February 19, 2013 at 8:55 pm

        I agree, acai is really hard to stomach. If I ever want to puke, I go get a bottle of Kombucha with acai. I ate acai berries once but I would not add them to my mixes. I like coconut water plain. It is like flavored water. I don’t drink it plain much right now. I will be drinking it plain as I get into my Ironman and Ultraman training. It is a good alkalizing source if you do not want to add lemon or vinegar to your water.

        blowingoffsteamandmore said:
        February 19, 2013 at 9:37 pm

        Good to hear. I was totally turned off from coconut water but I will give it a try again. I need something to hydrate me better when I run and I don’t want all of the chemicals in all of the sports drinks that are out there.

        genext13 responded:
        February 19, 2013 at 10:12 pm

        Coconut water is certainly a good choice for recovery and hydration. Unfortunately, the races tend to use Gatorade or Powerade. They used Accelerade a couple times here for the PF Chang’s but it did not hold well with the weather. Accelerade has protein in it. I think it is whey though, which is not a good thing to take when you want recovery. Plant proteins are a better source for me because of the health benefits. Animal sources will increase your body’s acidity which, as I have posted before (I think), increases your recovery time and other non-beneficial effects. Plus, if nothing else, I maintain the mantra ‘Food is Fuel.’

        blowingoffsteamandmore said:
        February 19, 2013 at 10:47 pm

        Sorry to hijack your comments! I should read back on your posts. I need some serious help with pre-run meals and post run meals. I am 100% sure my muscles wouldn’t be so sore and I wouldn’t lose energy so quickly if i ate the right foods. I thought I knew what was good, and it’s perfect for a 3 mile run but my body isn’t handling the 6mi++ runs as well as I would like. I am only 36 and sometimes I feel like 75!

        genext13 responded:
        February 20, 2013 at 12:10 am

        Nonsense, I enjoy the conversation. What you really need is time. Your body just needs time to adjust to the change in activity. I read somewhere that change follows a rule of 3. You gain noticeable change in 3 days, then 3 weeks, then 3 months and I would take it to 3 years too. I used to focus intently on getting that wheat toast and eggs for my pre-run meal. Then I switched to steel cut oats. I found no big difference and honestly, I think it actually hindered me at times. My body was spending so much energy digesting that I felt rather sluggish during the run. I would wholeheartedly suggest you go read Rich Roll’s book. I have been doing my 3-6 mile runs without eating anything special before and some coconut water after. I like the idea of a juice before the longer runs so I am not wasting energy digesting. Your body puts a lot of blood into your gut to digest and this can increase your blood pressure and lactic acid production way too early in a run. I would not look at it from an age thing. I would look at it from a ‘how much active running have you done in your adult life?’ perspective. Your age works for you through recovery time and the ability to focus on the task at hand. Hold onto the idea that it will get better.
        Another mantra I hold onto is “I don’t need to be better than anyone else. I just need to be better than I used to be.”

        You. Are. Doing. Great!
        Hold. On. To. That.

        genext13 responded:
        February 20, 2013 at 12:10 am

        I think a 3-7 day juice fast might be the ticket for you. Just sayin’

        genext13 responded:
        February 20, 2013 at 3:15 pm

        Traditional wisdom says that you eat some complex carbs and a little protein before a long run. Whole wheat toast and a couple eggs or a cup of steel cut oatmeal was my pre-run meal. Post run, they say you should have protein to help the muscles recover as well as water and electrolytes. Accelerade has a recovery drink called, Endurox, is excellent for this. Your body is ripe for uptake of glycogen after a run so something like this is perfect. Eating whole foods is not easy after a long run so you should aim at juices with a protein boost. Then eat something after about a half hour. When I say you need time, I mean your body needs to get used to the longer amount of time running. You empty your body’s glycogen stores and refill them afterward. This creates more storage space each time and also trains your body to use the glycogen stores instead of engaging in the up and down roller coaster of glucose depletion and crash. When you go for long runs, you can also try run/walk rather than running the entire time. The point is to keep moving.

        blowingoffsteamandmore said:
        February 20, 2013 at 4:01 pm

        Thanks for all of the advice! 6.5 miles today for the 1st time! I even ran up most of the hills. 🙂

        genext13 responded:
        February 20, 2013 at 4:09 pm

        Yay!

    lebrian c said:
    February 20, 2013 at 2:53 am

    So true about how loud the ninja is. I used to be afraid to use it too early when I lived in an apartment building, it sounds like an industrial power saw!

Leave a Reply

