Plant-strong

Posted on Updated on

I am going vegan. No, I will not be wearing Birkenstocks, wearing tye dye, or listening to Alannis but I will be eliminating foods that come from animals from my diet. Protein? No problem, plenty from plants and seeds. Dairy? Might be difficult but I have rediscovered some information I must have repressed about dairy. I have been studying nutrition for 25 years. I have read both professional journals and popular media as well as pseudo scientific media filled with a mixture of opinion (some feel that because they have read a lot makes them ‘experts’ and that we should take their word on everything) and fact (some of which are just their opinions they try to pass off as fact using the same reasoning as the ‘expert’ reason just mentioned). I know what to eat and I know why. Now I not only have reason, I have proof that it works in ways that ‘conventional wisdom’ says it should not. As mentioned (perhaps a bit too stalker-y or man-crushish) in a previous post, Rich Roll became one of the fittest men in the world, running double and quadruple triathlons while on a vegan diet. There are triathletes, professional basketball, baseball, and football players who are vegan and all degrees of vegetarian. Conventional wisdom says ‘you cannot train, build muscle, and definitely compete without animal proteins.’ I beg to differ and I have always felt that this was more of an old wives tale. There is evidence to show this to be the case. This is the direction for me. Going vegan is for health and longevity, the same reasons I started this whole thing in the first place.
Next up…P90X

*This post was started awhile ago and I have been about 95% vegan since then. I feel great but it is still a work in progress. I think that once we get the juicer, I will really take off with all this.
I still have a few posts to finish but I am getting there.

4 thoughts on “Plant-strong

    blowingoffsteamandmore said:
    February 7, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    Good luck! I could never give up my animal proteins but I have friends that are vegan and they absolutely love it!

    ksbeth said:
    February 20, 2013 at 12:17 am

    hope you have found the results you were hoping for – and thanks for stopping by and following my blog and for the firsthand wallpapering adivce – beth

    lillylion said:
    February 20, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    I SUPER admire you! I have tried this and although 100% vegan was too much for me (at the time), the exploration of it REALLY made me think more about new ways to feed my body. Changes I have kept, to this day. Happy trails!

      genext13 responded:
      February 21, 2013 at 2:17 am

      You are SUPER cute and so is Chloe. I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

