New categories

Posted on Updated on

I realized that I have not been posting about a couple of my favorite things, food and this nice little iPad I have been posting from. Thanks to blowingoffsteamandmore and her 3-star blog (I personally give her 10 out of 6) for inspiring me to include something I really enjoy in my blog. I have posted about this before.
There are different types of meditation. There is prayer or sutra or other types of recitation meditation. This is sitting and saying something to yourself over and over for a period of time. This type of meditation is aimed at getting your mind out of the way. Another type of meditation is mindfulness. This meditation involves breath and focusing on everything that you feel and think without actually focusing on anything specific. A third type of meditation if movement meditation. This meditation can be martial arts, yoga or any type of activity where one can lose the mind and just ‘be.’ Work can be considered movement meditation. This is not to be confused with shifting into automatic, where one shuts off and just does things. The difference is that you are not aware of anything and are often more tired after automatic mode than during a meditative type of activity. I have gone into automatic at work many times and I am exhausted at the end of the day. I might be physically tired after a workout but my spirit is charged. Which brings me back to food.

Cooking is one of my types of movement meditations. I can spend days cooking and lose myself yet I am constantly charged and recharged by the activity. I am more creative when I cook. I am aware of everything, critical yet accepting of everything that happens when I cook, happy and focused. I am able to think several steps ahead of where I am while focusing on the task and hand and keeping the whole picture in mind. the task flattens out from being a lot of things with many levels in four dimensions, to a set of tasks in 2 dimensions. Like the sphere in Flatland who visited the second dimension. He was able to perceive the whole of Flatland but was able to work within it with greater clarity. Confuscated? For me, cooking is meditative and joyful. It is a mystical experience. I experience the divine through setting my self aside. When I am not forcing anything, not pushing too hard, achieving joy through cooking is easy.

This iPad is another of my pleasures. I spend a lot of time looking at apps and testing them out. I think I will be discussing apps I have tried here as well. The types I like to play with are often food-related but there are other types of creative apps I have as well. I really like an app that turned out to be the app of the year, Paper. This app is great in its simplicity. It is just a blank journal. You are given drawing tools and nothing else is necessary except your own creativity. You can create multiple journals with different subjects or for different people to create in. You can add as many pages as you like. You can create your own colors to use. You can export the creations to share with others. It is wonderful for developing your personal creativity.

2 thoughts on “New categories

    blowingoffsteamandmore said:
    January 23, 2013 at 12:31 am

    I don’t know why I just saw this but thank you!! I am so glad you read and comment and like!

    Becki Duckworth said:
    January 24, 2013 at 7:21 pm

    Meditation is wonderful saves me daily , I have to just “check out” sometimes.. I will also have to check out that ipad app.

Leave a Reply

